Connect with us


Ashes 2019: Australia name squad with ‘Sandpaper Gate’ trio return

Formerly banned ‘Sandpaper Gate’ trio David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft in the Ashes 2019 squad.



Ashes 2019: Australia name squad with 'Sandpaper Gate' trio returns
Cameron Bancroft returns with David Warner and Steve Smith. Photo: Getty

Australian selectors have named squad for the Ashes 2019 welcoming back the formerly banned trio David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft  for the first time since their involvement in the ball-tampering scandal.

Some surprise is left out there as selectors picked uncapped Queensland pace bowler Michael Neser for the anciently prestigious contest against arch-rival England.

29-year old Neser caught the attention of selectors when he claimed 4/42 in the intra-squad match in Southampton.

Bancroft is back after showing decent run scoring for Western Australia in the Sheffield Shield, for Durham in county cricket where he amassed 726 at an average of 45.37 and 93 not out in the intra-squad game.

The 17-man squad also includes Matthew Wade as the second wicket keeper alongside Tim Paine, the Test skipper.

Wade, who last played a Test match in 2017, scored three centuries on tour with Australia A.  He crossed 1000 runs in the Sheffield Shield season edged past Alex Carey to grab a place in the squad.

Trevor Hohns remarked about the three cricketers who retained after the suspension saying they are welcomed back ‘with open arms.’

“They are welcomed back with open arms, there is no doubt about it. Steve Smith and Dave Warner, they’re very good cricketers, world-class players. It was natural that we would include them now that they’re available again.

“Cameron Bancroft, of course, has had quite a good summer playing county cricket, plus he played well here in the recent game. You may recall going back to South Africa, he was also our leading run-scorer over there before the action was taken against him,” Hohns said.

Full squad: Tim Paine (c), Cameron Bancroft, Patrick Cummins, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Michael Neser, James Pattinson, Peter Siddle, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner

Continue Reading

Trending Topics