Connect with us


England demolish Australia to enter into the summit clash



England demolish Australia to enter into the summit clash

Hosts and tournament favorites England have thrashed Australia by an 8-wicket victory in the second semi-final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 at the Edgbaston in Birmingham on Thursday and joined New Zealand for the summit clash at the Lord’s on 14th of July.

The ancient arch-rivals were loomed for a hot contest in the to reach into the final but it was all too easy for England to set aside the reigning champions at the end.

English openers Jason Roy and Jonny Bairstow made merry of Aussie bowlers, flooding down the run-gate chasing a paltry total of 224 set by Australia after deciding to bat first.

Within first 17 overs of the innings, the hosts batsmen made more than the half job done for the team with a staggering run rate. England lost their first wicket at the score of 124 when Bairstow fall for Starc, the highest wicket taker so far in the tournament.

England lost Jason Roy too in the process, more from a defective decision making by the field umpires; he scored a 65-ball 85 flicking 9 shots to the boundary and 5 for over boundary.

The initial half also belonged to the home team. English pace trio Mark Wood, Chris Woakes and Jofra Archer strangled hold the Australian batsmen as soon as they stepped into the field to bat first.

By the sixth over of the first innings, Aussies lost three of their top orders. Former captain Steven Smith and in form Alex Carey guarded against the falling wickets but the process slowed them down to accumulate enough runs on the board to make a competitive total.

Maxwell came in the scene and accelerated the innings with a quick fire 22 (23 balls) while Smith made the highest of them all scoring 85.

Woakes and Archer shared five wickets with Adil Rashid joined the feast scalping 3 for 54.

Brief Score:

Australia 223 in 49 overs (Steven Smith 85, Alex Carey 46; Chris Woakes 3-20, Adil Rashid 3-54) lost to England 226/2 in 32.1 overs (Jason Roy 85, Joe Root 49*; Pat Cummins 1-34, Mitchell Starc 1-70) by 8 wickets.


Trending Topics