Connect with us


Experienced Malik seal easy victory for Pakistan

With the win, Pakistan broke their seven match losing streak in the game’s shortest format.



Shoaib Malik was awesome during his batting. Picture:PCB

Bangladesh did well but Pakistan seized the better part of the show resulting an easy win for the home team at the end.

In the first of the three match Twenty20 international series,

Pakistan defeated visiting Bangladesh by 5 wickets with three deliveries left to play at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

Mohammad Naim and Tamim Iqbal, on his return to international cricket gave a solid foundation of 71 runs in the opening.

When touring skipper Mahmudullah Riyad won the toss and opted to bat first with Iqbal scored 39 and Naim added 43 runs.

At the end of 15 overs, Bangladesh were 100 on the board losing three wickets.

But the middle order failed to deliver an acceleration as the visiting side completed the twenty overs in 141 runs.

Shadab Khan was most economical among Pakistan bowlers; he picked a single wicket but conceded just 26 runs in 4 overs.

Likewise the batsmen, Bangladesh bowlers also started things well.

Shafiul Islam removed skipper Babar Azam before opening up his account.

Veteran Mohammad Hafeez too was caught at the top edge leaving Pakistan 35 for 2 after 5 overs.

Experienced Shoaib Malik did not allow Pakistan to lost their track.

He hold the innings at one end and place Pakistan at ease of chasing.

Opening batsman Ahsan Ali scored second best with 36 off 32 balls on his international debut was the second highest scorer.

Malik was there till the end; he added 58 runs facing 45 runs. His innings conceded 5 shots to the boundary.

With the win, Pakistan broke their seven match losing streak in the game’s shortest format.

They need to clean sweep Bangladesh in the three match series in order to retain their number one position in the ranking.

Brief Scores:

Pakistan 142/5 (Shoaib Malik 58*, Ahsan Ali 36, Shafiul Islam 2-27) defeat Bangladesh 141/5 (Mohammad Naim 43, Tamim Iqbal 39, Shaheen Shah Afridi 1-23) by five wickets.


Continue Reading

Trending Topics