Connect with us


Shakib grabs his spot in Team of the Tournament for ICC CWC 2019

After his incredible all-round performance, Shakib Al Hasan made to the Team of the Tournament for ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.



Shakib grabs his spot in Team of the Tournament for ICC CWC 2019
Shakib shined both with bat and ball throughout the CWC 2019. Photo: Reuters

At the end of the 12th edition of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the Team of the Tournament. The greatest of great performers in this year’s showpiece event have been enlisted in the team depicted by the governing body of the sports.

In the selected team, four are from the new world champions England, two each from runner-up New Zealand, Australia and India.

Shakib Al Hasan became the sole representative of a team who could not appear in the semi-final of the tournament.

Kane Williamson, the skipper of New Zealand have been taken to lead the side. Williamson scored 578 runs at an average of 82.57 – he was adjudged Man of the Tournament for his outstanding way of leading the Kiwis to final.

ICC said, “The bedrock of New Zealand’s batting right through the tournament, Williamson was an immovable object at the crease and an astute captain, who impressed with his tactical nous.”

Jason Roy, Joe Root, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer are four members from the World Cup winning squad who have been enlisted in the team.

Roy scored 443 runs from seven innings at an impressive strike-rate of 115.36 while Root rooted 556 runs from 11 innings.

About Shakib Al Hasan, the ICC revealed feature quoted, “Bangladesh’s torch-bearer in this World Cup, Shakib is an automatic entrant into the best XI.”

“Arguably the most valuable player of the 2019 World Cup, Shakib excelled both with bat and ball as he became the first cricketer to ever achieve the double of 500 runs and 10 wickets in a single edition of the tournament,” it said.

Shakib finished with 606 runs at a staggering average of 86.57 along with capturing 11 wickets.

ICC Team of the Tournament: 

Rohit Sharma, Jason Roy, Kane Williamson (Captain), Joe Root, Shakib Al Hasan, Ben Stokes, Alex Carey (Wicket-keeper), Mitchell Starc, Jofra Archer, Lockie Farguson, Jasprit Bumrah, Trent Boult (12th man).

Continue Reading

Trending Topics