Connect with us


In smoke choked Delhi, Bangladesh stun India to seal first T20I win

This is the first T20I win for Bangladesh in nine matches they played against India so far.



Mushfiqur stuns India to seal first T20I win for Bangladesh
Soumya Sarkar scores 39. Photo: BCCI

Bangladesh batsmen exhibited a solid display of chase to pave the team way to their first T20I win against India in nine matches.

On Sunday amidst vivid speculations of the match being jeopardized due to severe air pollution in New Delhi, visiting Bangladesh shunned a full house crowd at the Arun Jaitely Stadium clinching a comprehensive 7 wickets win.

Chasing a moderate total of 148/6 which India scored after being asked to bat first, the touring side eclipsed the target having three balls to spare.

With captain Mahmudullah Riyad charged debutant Shivam Dube for a wide long on six in the third delivery of the ultimate over, Bangladesh put the winning tone in style.

Veteran Mushfiqur Rahim has become the mainstay of orchestrating the excellent win with his marvelous half century; he was, therefore, unbeaten at 60 featuring 43 deliveries in which he slotted 8 shots to cross the boundary rope and one for maximum.

Bangladesh did start in a positive note having the coin luck tossed in Mahmudullah’s way at the very beginning. And the decision to field first was justified by Shafiul Islam trapping hard hitter Rohit Sharma in the last ball of the very first over.

The decision was reviewed but it did not favor the Indian skipper as they stored 10 runs in the first over but lost the vital wicket.

Aminul Islam hit the deck in the middle claiming both Lokesh Rahul and Shreyas Iyer; when Shikhar Dhawan also lost his way back to the crease against a Mahmudullah throw, India was reeling losing 4 wickets before hundred runs on the board.

India might have ended in a far lesser score had Washington Sundar not made the big hits in the ending phase of the innings. Sundar added 14 with 2 over-boundaries.

Bangladesh, meanwhile did not make a happy start either. Opener Liton Das was caught by Rahul off Chahar in the fifth ball of the first over. But since then the visitors were not misled by Indian bowling attack.

Mohammad Naim (26 off 28), stood for 46 runs in the second wicket partnership with Soumya Sarkar. Soumya, before being rattled by Khaleel Ahmed built Bangladesh’s innings contributing 39 off 35 balls – he flicked 1 four and 2 sixes.

Mahmudullah Riyad was unbeaten scoring 15.

Brief Score:

India 148/6 (20 overs) 

Shikhar Dhawan 41, Rishabh Pant 27, Shreyas Iyer 22

Aminul Islam 2/22, Shafiul Islam 2/36

Bangladesh 154/3 (19.3 overs)

Mushfiqur Rahim 60*, Soumya Sarkar 39, Mahmudullah Riyad 15*

Deepak Chahar 1/24

Result: Bangladesh won by 7 wickets.

Toss: Bangladesh

Man of the Match: Mushfiqur Rahim

Continue Reading

Trending Topics