Connect with us


India crush South Africa to earn record Test series win at home

The 2-0 win in the Test series is the eleventh consecutive series win for India at home.



India crush South Africa to earn record Test series win at home
India take 2-0 lead in three match series. Photo: Hindustan Times

South Africa were out of contest against India in Pune where Virat Kohli-led side crushed the visitors by an innings and 137 runs, winning the second Test at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium to complete the series win, with a match to spare.

The 2-0 Test series win is the eleventh consecutive series victory for India at home beating Australia’s previous record of ten successive wins which the Aussies achieved twice.

It was all about India in this occasion. Skipper Virat Kohli masterminded a record breaking double hundred, his career best Test score. While Mayank Agarwal continued his good vein with another century on the card in the only innings of India. Jadeja was unfortunate to miss a ton.

The Proteas were miserly bundled out in 189 after being asked to follow-on as they were all out for 275 in their first innings replying India’s mammoth 601/5.

Vernon Philander and Keshav Maharaj made eight-wicket stand of 56 resulting only to lengthen the time of defeat.

Opener Dean Elgar scored a hard fought 48 and Temba Bavuma lately scoring 38 marking as only significant incidents in South Africa’s innings. With the rest of their batsmen failing to reach in even double figures, the visiting side embraced the defeat in the penultimate day of the match.

Umesh Yadav literally ripped apart the tourists returning with a match figure of 6 for 59 claiming 3 wickets in each innings.

In the first innings of South Africa did most of the damage bagging 4 wickets 69.

Brief scores:

India 1st innings 601/5 declared

Virat Kohli 254 not out, Mayank Agarwal 108, Ravindra Jadeja 91,

Kagiso Rabada 3/93;

South Africa 1st innings 275

Keshav Maharaj 72, Faf du Plessis 64, Vernon Philander 44 not out;

R Ashwin 4/69, Umesh Yadav 3/37

Following on: South Africa 2nd innings 189

Dean Elgar 48, Temba Bavuma 38;

Umesh Yadav 3/22, Ravindra Jadeja 3/52

Result: India won by an innings and 137 runs. 

Continue Reading

Trending Topics