Connect with us


India equal Pakistan’s unique T20I record

India have became the second side to register 50 away wins in T20 internationals, after Pakistan.



India equal Pakistan’s unique T20I record
India won the low-scoring first T20I against West Indies at Lauderhill. Photo: ESPNcriconfo

The post-World Cup life started in rather disquiet way for India, they lost 6 wickets chasing West Indies’ mere 96 runs of winning total but at the end the touring side managed to come out victorious.

And with this particular win, India have became the second side to register 50 away wins in T20 internationals.

At the Central Broward Regional Park Stadium Turf Ground in Lauderhill, Florida, all batsmen struggled to survive. West Indies, being sent into bat first were restricted to 95 for 9 with Navdeep Saini starring the show in his debut.

He returned with a figure of 3 for 17 with a maiden in his 4 overs. Kieron Pollard was the highest scorer for the Caribbeans with 49 before he was trapped in front leg by Saini. Pollard’s 49 consisted of 2 fours and 4 sixes.

Nicholas Pooran made the second highest with 20 off 16.

In reply, India began losing Shikhar Dhawan in the last ball of the second over. They lost both Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant at the score of 32.

Things did not come easy for the touring batsmen in that point also as they kept losing wickets. Cottrell grabbed the priced wicket of Kohli and Keemo Paul joined the feast grabbing Manish Pandey and Krunal Pandey right away.

West Indies, however, could not sling throat India further as they pushed the last few required runs for victory without losing further wickets.

This was India’s 71st T20I victory in 116 matches with an average of 63.27. Neighboring Pakistan top the list of most number of T20I wins having 90 wins in their bag out of 143 T20I matches they played so far.

Brief Score:

West Indies 95/9 (20 overs)

Kieron Pollard 49, Nicholas Pooran 20

Navdeep Saini 3/17, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 2/19, Washington Sundar 1/18

India 98/6 (17.2 overs)

Rohit Sharma 24, Virat Kohli 19, Manish Pandey 19

Sheldon Cottrell 2/20, Sunil Narine 2/14, Keemo Paul 2/23

Result: India won by 4 wickets.

Toss: India.

Man of the Match: Navdeep Saini 

Continue Reading

Trending Topics