Connect with us


Bangladesh vs India 1st Test: Invincible India look to extend dominance

Bangladesh newly appointed Test skipper Mominul Haque denies any threat from the strong opponents.



Bangladesh vs India 1st Test Invincible India look to extend dominance
India are yet to be defeated in World Test Championship. Photo: Express Tribune

The emergence of World Test Championship has so far behold one unbeaten team and that is India. In last 11 consecutive Test series at home, no team could defeat India that quite rationally prove no probable harm to be done by an eight ranked Test team in the forthcoming two-match series.

The first of the two-match Test series will begin on Thursday, 14 of November at the Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore.

So much so, the hosts skipper Virat Kohli did not forget to put tolerable amount of trust upon the opposition’s strength saying they are not taking Bangladesh lightly anyway and they have to play good cricket at the end.

In their last Test series at home, India outclassed South Africa to complete a series sweep while Bangladesh lost the one-off Test against Afghanistan at home soil.

The visiting team sees a new captain after Mominul Haque was assigned the responsibility of leading the team in absence of Shakib Al Hasan who is serving two-year ban. Mominul, in the pre-match press briefing emphasized on enjoying the challenge rather than pointing out to the specifics of the contest.

He said, “When we play this kind of a pace attack, we don’t think about it as a threat. It will be a good challenge and opportunity for everyone.

“I don’t think it will be a threat. We have to overcome the challenge and enjoy the opportunity.”

Meanwhile Bangladesh might groom for the experienced Imrul Kayes to open the innings as Tamim Iqbal is not in the list.

And the home team, like the previous Test series at home against South Africa might run with the five-bowler theory.

India’s Probable XI:

1. Rohit Sharma, 2. Mayank Agarwal, 3. Cheteshwar Pujara, 4. Virat Kohli (captain), 5. Ajinkya Rahane, 6. Ravindra Jadeja, 7. Wriddhiman Saha (wk), 8. R Ashwin, 9. Ishant Sharma, 10. Umesh Yadav, 11. Mohammed Shami.

Bangladesh’s Probable XI:

1. Shadman Islam, 2. Saif Hassan/Imrul Kayes, 3. Mominul Haque (captain), 4. Mushfiqur Rahim, 5. Mahmudullah, 6. Mohammad Mithun, 7. Liton Das (wicketkeeper), 8. Mehidy Hasan, 9. Taijul Islam, 10. Abu Jayed, 11. Ebadat Hossain/Mustafizur Rahman


Continue Reading

Trending Topics