Connect with us


Langeveldt backs Mustafizur’s omission from Test squad

Following Mustafizur Rahman’s omission from the Test squad against Afghanistan, Langeveldt explained the decision.



Langeveldt backs Mustafizur's omission from Test squad
Mustafizur Rahman with Charl Langeveldt. Photo: Twitter

A day after Mustafizur Rahman has been sidelined from the one-off Test squad against Afghanistan, Bangladesh pace bowling consultant Charl Langeveldt reasoned the decision.

Langeveldt said it was a precaution to drop the young pacer from the forthcoming assignment to save him (Mustafizur) for the hectic international schedule ahead.

“At the moment, he is carrying a niggle and we decided to rest him for that due to precaution because we have lot of white ball cricket coming up,”

Langeveldt said.

Mustafizur was omitted from the Test squad after sustaining a back injury during the conditioning camp.

The newly appointed Bangladesh pace master said, “The T20 World Cup is coming up. We have to look after him because he is our best bowler in T20 and 50 over format.”

Langeveldt also reckoned the condition here is difficult for fast bowlers. He insisted upon maintaining consistency while bowling in Test cricket.

The former South African fast bowler said, “But I know in this condition it’s very tough for pace bowler. I am very excited they learn this. For now, it is just to get consistency.

“So I need to prepare them in order to be consistent. Consistency means able to bowl four out of six in the right area, making the batsmen play, bringing him forward. And that’s my big focus for now.

“Test cricket is all about consistency with good length. Good bowlers like [Vernon] Philander, he is not fast, but he is consistent in length. He makes the batsmen play a lot more than any other bowler in the world,” he added.

Bangladesh Squad for one-off Test series against Afghanistan:

Shakib Al Hasan (Cap), Soumya Sarkar, Shadman Islam, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Kumar, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mosaddek Hossain, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Abu Jayed, Taskin Ahmed and Ebadot Hossain.

Continue Reading

Trending Topics