Connect with us


Pakistan to tour Sri Lanka despite security fears, announce squad for ODIs

Pacers Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi and veteran Mohammad Hafeez have been left out of the ODI squad.



Pakistan to tour Sri Lanka despite security fears, announce squad for ODIs
Pakistan announce ODI squad for Sri Lanka. Photo: Cricket Pakistan

In his first assignment, Pakistan’s newly appointed head coach-cum-chief selector Misbah-Ul-Haq has named a 16-member squad for the upcoming One-day International (ODI) series against Sri Lanka.

World Cup discards opener Abid Ali, middle order batsman Ifthikar Ahmed,  wicket-keeper batsman Muhammad Rizwan, pacer Usman Shinwari and all-rounder Muhammad Nawaz have been recalled in the team.

Fast bowlers Hasan Ali and Shaheen Shah Afridi have been left out of the team due to back spasm and dengue fever respectively. All-rounder Mohammad Hafeez has been dropped from the side.

The squad for the three Twenty20 Internationals against Sri Lanka in Lahore will be announced during the ODI series.

Speaking on the occasion, Misbah-ul-Haq said,

“After thorough discussions with the members of the selection committee and meticulous planning, I feel we have put together the best possible squad.”

“These are the only 50-over matches we have this season and we want to make their optimum use. Over the course of my cricketing career, I have realized there are no easy games and there are no easy opponents in cricket.”

“The five boys, who have been recalled, were straightforward selections. Iftikhar Ahmed is a batsman who can also bowl off-spin, providing the captain with necessary bowling depth as Sri Lanka boasts a few left-handers in their ranks. Mohammad Nawaz has been performing well in domestic matches.”

“Despite their strong performances, Moahmmad Rizwan, Usman Shinwari and Abid Ali were unlucky to miss out the World Cup squad.

“This is, however, a perfect opportunity for these players to prove their mettle in international cricket and cement their place in the one-day side,” he added.

The three-match ODI series begins in Karachi on September 27 followed by three T20Is in Lahore.

Pakistan ODI squad

Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam (vice-captain), Abid Ali, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Hasnain, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imamul Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Usman Khan Shinwari and Wahab Riaz.

Continue Reading

Trending Topics