Connect with us


Sri Lanka name 22-man squad for NZ Test series

SLC announced preliminary squad for Test series against New Zealand. Dinesh Chandimal and Angelo Mathews both made their return.



Sri Lanka name 22-man squad for NZ Test series
Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews and Akila Dananjaya made the preliminary squad. Photo: Getty

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), on Wednesday, announced a 22-member squad for the two-Test series against New Zealand.

Dinesh Chandimal, Akila Dananjaya and Dilruwan Perera have been recalled in the squad with Dimuth Karunaratne to lead the side.

Oshada Fernando and Kusal Mendis who guided the island nation to their historic Test series win against South Africa, have also been named in the squad.

A media release on Wednesday stated,

“The Minister of Telecommunication, Foreign Employment and Sports Honorable Harin Fernando approved the following 22 member Sri Lanka squad to play the Test Series vs New Zealand. The final 15 will be selected out of the given squad.”

Dinesh Chandimal, the former Sri Lanka captain has returned after around six months of absence.

Angelo Mathews, who missed the South Africa Tests due to a hamstring injury, has made a return to the side.

Akila Dananjaya also been included after changing his bowling action. He was suspended by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for an illegal action late last year. Dananjaya played in the limited over series in South Africa tour.

Milinda Siriwardana, Kaushal Silva and Mohamed Shiraz missed out the opportunity for this time.

The series will get underway on August 14 at Galle. It can be noted that this is the commencement of World Test Championship for both the sides.

The second and last Test of the series will start from 22nd of this month.

Sri Lanka’s 22-member Test squad:

Dimuth Karunaratne (captain), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Janith Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Angelo Perera, Oshada Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilruwan Perera, Akila Dananjaya, Lasith Embuldeniya, Lakshan Sandakan, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando

Continue Reading

Trending Topics