Connect with us


Sri Lanka register first home series win in nearly four years beating Bangladesh

Sri Lanka defeated Bangladesh by seven wickets in 2nd ODI to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the ODI series.



Sri Lanka register first home series win in nearly two years beating Bangladesh
Avishka Fernando and Kusal Perera lead Sri Lanka to win the second ODI. Photo: AFP

Sri Lanka have defeated Bangladesh by seven wickets in the second one-day international to take an unassailable 2-0 lead in a three-match series in Colombo on Sunday.

With that win, the island nation claimed their first series win at home in last 44 months.

Angelo Mathews stood with an unbeaten 52 as Sri Lanka reached 242-3 in 44.4 overs after restricting Bangladesh to 238-8 in 50 overs.

While Avishka Fernando scored highest 82 off 75 balls; he was adjudged man of the match.

In the first half of the innings, wicket keeper batsman Mushfiqur Rahim hit an unbeaten 98 to guide Bangladesh to a modest 238-8 after the tourists won the toss and decided to bat first at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

The visitors were soon fall in trouble as Pradeep trapped opener Soumya Sarkar leg before for 11. Captain in charge Tamim Iqbal made 19 before dragging an Udana delivery onto his stumps.

Dananjaya removed Mohammad Mithun for 12 and bowled Mahmudullah Riyad for six. Hard hitter Sabbir Rahman fall into an unfortunate run-out making havoc in the Bangladesh innings too early.

Mushfiqur’s near hundred innings contained six fours and a six facing 110 ball innings following Bangladesh’s disastrous spell of losing first six wickets for 117 runs on the board.

Mushfiqur took Mehidy Hasan, the number eight batsman to share 84 runs in the seventh wicket which is, however, a record for Bangladesh against Sri Lanka in that particular position.

All-rounder Mehidy made 43 off 46 balls with six boundaries before he was caught by Sri Lankan skipper Dimuth Karunaratne at mid-off off Nuwan Pradeep.

It can be noted that Sri Lanka won the first match of the series by 91 runs. The third and last encounter is scheduled to take place on July 31 at the same venue.

Brief Scores:

Bangladesh 238/8 in 50 overs

Mushfiqur Rahim 98*, Mehidy Hasan 43, Tamim Iqbal 19

Akila Dananjaya 2-39, Isuru Udana 2/58, Akila Dananjaya 2/39

Sri Lanka 242/3 in 44.4 overs

Avishka Fernando 82, Angelo Mathews 52*, Kusal Mendis 41*

Mustafizur Rahm 2/50

Result: Sri Lanka won by seven wickets.

Toss: Bangladesh.

Man of the Match: Avishka Fernando. 


Continue Reading

Trending Topics